2020 Archive

The 21st, and first virtual, Advanced Maui Optical and Space Surveillance Technologies (AMOS) Conference, presented by Maui Economic Development Board (MEDB), helped foster important dialogue and international collaboration on the space environment, at a time when global security is rapidly changing.

With relatively little advance notice, the AMOS team was able to make the inaugural all-virtual conference experience engaging and fruitful with the combination of live-streaming, on-demand sessions, digital exhibits, and networking chatrooms. Additionally, an Aloha Reception featuring Hawaiian music and Tahitian dancing transported participants from around the world to paradise in anticipation for their in-person return to Maui in 2021.

Read more about the highlights

Download the 2020 Program

Congratulations to the 2020 AMOS Award Winners

Best Paper Award

Maneuver Detection for Cislunar Vehicles using Optical Measurements
Jesse Greaves, University of Colorado Boulder

Best Student Paper Award

Robust Initial Orbit Determination Using Streaks and Admissible Regions
Sam Wishnek, University of Colorado Boulder

Featured Presentation

The Space S&T Challenges from LEO to Cislunar
Download the slides from the presentation by Col Eric Felt, Director, Space Vehicles Directorate, Air Force Research Laboratory and Col Joseph Roth, Director, Innovation & Prototyping, Air Force Space & Missile Systems Center

Videos & Photos

Videos of the Opening, Keynotes and SSA Policy Forums can be viewed at  AMOS Conference YouTube channel.

Photos caught the virtual action as well as selfies posted as part of the #AMOSselfie social media challenge. View them all

Technical Chairs

Paul Kervin, AFRL/RDSM
Daron Nishimoto, Pacific Defense Solutions – A Centauri Company

Conference Advisors

Col L. Kirk Lewis, Ret., Institute for Defense Analyses
Jeanne Skog, Skog Rasmussen LLC

2020 Session Chairs

Adaptive Optics & Imaging
Geoff Andersen, Air Force Office of Scientific Research
Michael Hart, University of Arizona; HartSCI LLC

T.S. Kelso, ComSpOC Corp
Marek Ziebart, University College London

Atmospherics/Space Weather
Thomas Berger, University of Colorado at Boulder
Marcus Holzinger, University of Colorado at Boulder

Cislunar SSA
James Frith, Air Force Research Laboratory
Jaime Stearns, Air Force Research Laboratory

Machine Learning Applications of SSA
Justin Fletcher, Air Force
Nathan Toner, Centauri

Non-Resolved Object Characterization
Tamara Payne, Applied Optimization, Inc.
Emily Lambert, L3 Harris

Optical Systems & Instrumentation
Sue Lederer, NASA Johnson Space Center
Darren McKnight, Centauri

Orbital Debris
James Blake, University of Warwick
Heather Cowardin, NASA Johnson Space Center

Space-Based Assets
Brandon Cesul, Centauri
Elizabeth Cunningham, Air Force

Space Situational Awareness/Space Domain Awareness
Moriba Jah, University of Texas at Austin
Danielle Wood, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Mahalo to our 2020 Sponsors

Featured Exhibitors

Air Force Office of Scientific ResearchJHU Applied Physics Lab
Air Force Research LaboratoryKratos
a.i. solutionsLeoLabs
AGILockheed Martin
Applied OptimizationNorthrop Grumman
Astro HavenNorthstar Earth & Space
Ball AerospaceNumerica Corporation
Braxton TechnologiesPlanewave Instruments
Charles River AnalyticsSandia National Laboratories
DLR Space AdministrationSecure World Foundation
ExoAnalytic SolutionsSeradata
General Atomics Electromagnetic SystemsSoftware Bisque
Space FoundationUSRA

ComSpOC: The Official Safety of Flight Services for AMOS 2020

Conference Highlights Video

2020 AMOS Conference Highlights

Search News