Wildfires, a four-star general and a sold-out conference headlined the 24th AMOS Conference held September 19-22 at the Wailea Beach Resort, Maui.  The premier technical conference in the nation devoted to Space Domain Awareness hosted 1082 in-person attendees with a further 269 participating virtually.

The conference began with a solemn note and a cultural blessing acknowledging the devastation by the August 8 wildfires that created a shadow over proceedings.

Our 24th year has brought new challenges, new opportunities, new faces, and many familiar ones that make up our ever-growing AMOS ‘ohana,” said Leslie Wilkins, MEDB President and CEO, in her opening address. “We appreciate the support of those who showed up to support Maui and are grateful for the outpouring of Aloha.”

The AMOS Conference program featured daily Keynote speakers, SSA/SDA policy forums, exhibits, short courses and networking receptions. Both in-person and livestream attendees had access to a virtual platform to facilitate networking and collaboration before, during and after the conference.

Read the full 2023 AMOS Conference Highlights

Congratulations to the 2023 AMOS Award Winners

Best Paper Award

John Iannamorelli, Purdue University
Adaptive Filtering for Multi-Sensor Maneuvering Cislunar Space Object Tracking

Student Award

Charles Constant, University College London
Limitations of Current Practices in Uncooperative Space Surveillance: Analysis of Mega-Constellation Data Time-Series

Poster Awards

GOLDEN TICKET (Winner of 2024 Oral Presentation Slot)
Thomas Schildknecht, Astronomisches Institut Universität Bern
Statistical Analysis of Space Debris Surveys in High-altitude Orbital Regions

Darin Koblick, Raytheon
Novel Tulip Shaped Three-body Orbits for Cislunar Space Domain Awareness Missions

Adrienne Rudolph, ExoAnalytic Solutions
Analysis of Spacecraft Propellant Plumes in the GEO Plasma Environment

Kristin Shahady, University of North Dakota
The Future Risk of Space Debris and Contested Environment Increases the Intrinsic and Actual Cost of GEO Slots

Technical Chairs

Paul Kervin, AFRL/RDSM (Ret.)
Daron Nishimoto, EO Solutions

2023 Session Chairs


Aaron Rosengren, University of California San Diego
Paul Schumacher, AFRL/RDSM (Ret.)

Atmospherics/Space Weather

Mary Ellen Craddock, Northrop Grumman Corporation
Shaylah Mutschler, Space Environment Technologies

Cislunar SSA

Mark Bolden, Trusted Space
Channing Chow, Cloudstone Innovations LLC


Matt Hejduk, The Aerospace Corporation
Lauri Newman, NASA

Machine Learning for SDA Applications

Weston Faber, L3Harris
Justin Fletcher, Odyssey

Satellite Characterization

Jeff Houchard, EO Solutions
Mara Payne, Altamira Technologies Corp.

SDA Systems & Instrumentation

Michael Hart, University of Arizona
Michael Nayak, DARPA

Space-Based Assets

Melrose Brown, UNSW Canberra
Andrew Nicholas, Naval Research Laboratory

Space Debris

James Blake, University of Warwick
Heather Cowardin

Space Domain Awareness

Jerry Krassner, OSD/R&E
Brian Young, KBR

Poster Chairs

Darren McKnight, LeoLabs
Matthew Stevenson, LeoLabs